Personal thoughts and successes

Dear Friends and Family,

This week was awesome for many reasons. However because time is short I will only be able to make a few remarks.

We baptized M. this week she is awesome and her family set a date to go to the temple. I never thought I would see the day that they made that commitment. It is a testimony to me that true love for people will help them change more than force or just teaching alone. This family has turned a new leaf and I am thankful to god for that change in their life.

A. was also confirmed and given the Holy Ghost this week. I know the Lord is helping these families change and find peace and rest in this life. R. is still on date for baptism and came to church for the first time with a friend.  I am so proud of her and feel so much joy because of the desire she has to change. She is going through a rough trial but the Lord is qualifying her to overcome these things and to have the capacity to accept his will.

Something I am working on in my life is accepting the Savior’s will and not my own. He truly does bless. I think the highlight of the week was doing service for the S family and finding a new family to teach named C. The S.s are an old couple who can’t do much for themselves anymore.

P1020262

I realized something this week about the idea of perfect brightness of hope. Perfect hope is not attainable in this life for most because it requires perfect faith. However the brightness of hope is attainable I believe.  I think when we make the choice to be positive, friendly, kind and to keep a smile on our face even in the midst of trial or stress we have a brightness with us and I think that brightness can allow hope to come in. So one can look forward and feel the comfort that the atonement and life of Jesus Christ brings as we trust him. I think I am turning over many new leaves and finding great ways to refine myself for our Savior through having a brightness of hope. I am growing that trust that things will be OK even when worldly circumstance would say otherwise.

A miracle happened this week, actually a few. So the first was A. She called me up and said that she was baptized and is going to the temple. I was floored. I saw her and had a good lunch. We caught up on many things. Second J. from Canada who wasn’t able to be baptized also called me up and told me she was getting baptized on Saturday. It was so wonderful. I even got to see my trainer Elder Gallo. He is doing very well at BYU. The last thing is J. is getting baptized after having to wait 15 years. He worked hard staying faithful and now is preparing to enter the waters hopefully this month. I can’t believe it because we worked and struggled so hard with him and others to see this day.

I know the Lord hears prayers and will answer in his own time and own way but he does answer. Finally S. got the priesthood, and is preparing to be sealed to his family for eternity. I could barely contain my tears when his sweet little wife L. whom he loves so much, wept because how long she had been waiting for this day. Even though she can barely walk because of Parkinson’s, she thanked the Lord for the great blessing her life has been and that she and S. could finally go to the temple. I wish I had a heart like that.

I almost forgot to tell you all, Sister I. got an answer and she has started to attend church now. She prayed for 20 min and said “after the months of deciding if this was all worth it because of the way I feel now there is no doubt this church is true and it was all worth it.” The I. family is set to go to the temple hopefully by Christmas. I love the Lord and his tender mercies.

So Pres Mccune has a birthday coming up and we are throwing him a surprise party. Since board week is here I hope this will be a chance to unload some stress from his life. He is such a good man and has a great abundance of love for the Lord.

 Another family that I am loving to pieces right now is the A family. They are good people and have over often. We share great gospel experiences, joke laugh, and have a good time. I think the one thing I live by most is the Gospel should be fun. I understand reverence but I am uncomfortable when people are so serious with their testimony. I can’t Imagine Jesus teaching without a big smile on his face and lightness in his countenance. The Gospel for me is fun and work is a joyful work. The blessings are also a bonus.

Also the O.family is so wonderful to us too. We played basketball this morning with Christen and yesterday after having ice cream with them for father’s day Camilla and Sabrina gave me  a big hug and said please come to Salt Lake to drop off Erich their older brother. I said I couldn’t but would see them soon. Erich and I have bonded a lot because he didn’t have the nicest missionaries when he lived in Mexico so when we took him out with us we became tight friends even though he is young. I want to be a good example for him because soon he will serve a mission and I want him to have hope and happiness when he goes.

I love you all and wish you the best. The Lord is looking after me and I am truly among men most richly blessed

Love,

Elder Harpole

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

